Year 7 Report

The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) reviews institutions on a seven-year accreditation cycle.  The University of Utah is preparing a Year Seven Self-Evaluation Report that will be submitted to NWCCU by September 1, 2015. If you have questions or wish to provide input, please contact a committee member listed below.  A draft of the report will be posted during the Spring semester, 2015.


Campus Dialogue Sessions for Planning and Accreditation Self-Study

We intend these sessions to provide information as well as opportunities for the participants to offer their meaningful feedback concerning the four major goals of the University: Foster Student Success, Develop and Transfer New Knowledge, Improve Health and Quality of Life, and Ensure Long-Term Viability of the University. Our aim is to use the information we gather from this process to inform both our accreditation self-study and our campus-strategy project. For each area, we will ask participants to identify and discuss:

· pressing needs and challenges;
· efforts of individual programs, departments, and colleges;
· goals for the university;
· strategies for reaching these goals; and
· the appropriate metrics for measuring success

The sessions will be interactive, so we hope participants will come ready to contribute their thoughts and ideas on each topic.


1. Mon, Mar 2, 12-1pm (Gould Auditorium; w/ lunch) — TOPIC Promote Student Success to Transform Lives
2. Fri, Mar 6, 8-9am (Gould Auditorium; w/ breakfast) – TOPIC Develop and Transfer New Knowledge
3. Mon, Mar 9, 3-4pm (Union – Panorama East; w/ snack) – TOPIC Improve Health and Quality of Life
4. Tue, Mar 10, 8-9am (Health Sciences – HSEB Alumni Hall 2110; w/ breakfast) – TOPIC Ensure Long-Term Viability of the University

Committee Members

Name Title Area Email
Martha Bradley-Evans (co-chair) Sr. Associate Vice President Academic Affairs
Dave Kieda (co-chair) Dean Graduate School
Alexa Doig Division Chair College of Nursing
Anne O’Brien Director, Education Continuing Education
Brenda Valles Director of Reseach and Assessment Diversity and Equity
Cathleen Zick Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies College of Socal & Behavioral Studies
Cathy Anderson Associate Vice President for Budget & Planning Academic Affairs
David Chapman Distinguished Professor Geology & Geophysics
Ed Barbanell Associate Dean Undergraduate Studies
Eric Eddings Associate Dean for Research College of Engineering
Hank Liese Interim Dean College of Social Work
Jennifer Mabey Assistant Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs Graduate School
John McNary Director – Campus Design & Construction Facilities Managemet
Karen Paisley Associate Dean College of Health
Kari Ellingson Associate Vice President for Student Development Student Affairs
Kathryn Stockton Interim Associate VP Diversity and Equity
Keith Bartholomew Associate Dean College of Architecture + Planning
Mark Bergstrom Associate Dean College of Humanities
Mark Parker Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies David Eccles School of Business
Mark St. Andre Assistant Dean Undergraduate Studies
Monty Paret Associate Dean Honors College
Paul Gore Director of Institutional Research Office of Budget and Institutional Analysis
Rich Ingebretsen Associate Dean for Student Affairs College of Science
Rick Anderson Associate Dean for Scholarly Resources & Collections Marriott Library
Robert Flores Professor College of Law
Sarah Projansky Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs College of Fine Arts
Stacy Ackerlind Special Assistant to VP Student Affairs
Wayne Samuelson Vice Dean for Education School of Medicine